Members of LWVL-DC have many opportunities to volunteer time and energy as well as educate themselves on issues in the community, state, nation and world. Here’s a sampling of our active committees.

  • Hot Topics
    Organizes monthly programs on issues with knowledgeable speakers from the state and community. Most programs are recorded and can be viewed from our Videos web page or YouTube channel. Check out Events to see what’s coming up and visit our Hot Topics page to read about programs of the past.
    Chair: Denise Pettengill [, 785-331-9276]
  • Voter Services
    Organizes our many voter registration and education activities.
    Co-chairs: Martha Silks [], Charlie Crabtree [785-312-2468]; and Sonja Czarnecki []
  • Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI)
    Organizes educational programs and recommends self-education readings.
    Chair: Tracy Matthews [, 785-727-8342]
  • Climate Change Committee
    Recently initiated, this group’s purpose is to develop a position paper and action plan for LWVL-DC based on the LWVUS Climate Change Position and toolkit. Other considerations are the City of Lawrence Ordinance 9744, establishing a goal of 100 percent clean, renewable energy by 2035, and recommendations made by the City of Lawrence Sustainability Advisory Board. Another resource is Climate Action KC.
    This committee is seeking members and plans to meet virtually on a monthly basis.
    Co-chairs: Kay Johnson [] and Ma’Ko’Quah Jones, both of whom are members of the Sustainability Advisory Board.
  • Scholarship Committee
    Responsible for working with accredited high schools in Douglas County to offer a scholarship for high school students who demonstrate an interest in political science and government through their scholastic record and extra-curricular activities. Committee members read applications and decide on the recipient each year.
    Chair: Emily Riner
  • Bylaws and 501(c)(3)
    Formed in 2020 to investigate forming a 501(c)(3) so that donations can be tax deductible, the committee has authored Bylaws revisions to conform with federal requirements for this designation.
    Members: Marcie Francisco, Boog Highberger, Emily Riner, Marjorie Cole, Debra Duncan, Ruth Lichtwardt, Gina Spade, and Marlene Merrill
  • Nominating Committee
    Researches and proposes a slate of officers and directors according to requirements of the League’s Bylaws and presents the slate to the membership for a vote at the annual meeting in April each year.
    Co-chairs: Jan Roth and Marilyn Hall; members: Ellen Paulsen, Denise Pettengill and Sharon Brown


To learn more about one or more of these committees and perhaps volunteer, please fill out the contact form below. Your message will be forwarded to the chair(s) of the committee(s) that particularly interest you.