Making Democracy Work

About the League

What is our mission? How are we structured? What is our history?

Our Mission and Roles

The League of Women Voters is a nonpartisan political organization encouraging informed and active participation in government. It influences public policy through education and advocacy. We never support or oppose any political party or candidate.

The League of Women Voters has two separate and distinct roles.

  • Voters Service/Citizen Education: we present unbiased nonpartisan information about elections, the voting process, and issues.

  • Action/Advocacy: we are also nonpartisan, but, after study, we use our positions to advocate for or against particular policies in the public interest.

To conduct our voter service and citizen education activities, we use funds from the League of Women Voters Education Fund, which is a 501(c)(3) corporation, a nonprofit educational organization. The League of Women Voters, a membership organization, conducts action and advocacy and is a nonprofit 501(c)(4) corporation.

Our Vision, Beliefs, and Intentions guide our activities.

History of the League of Women Voters

Officers and Board of Directors, 2015-2016

President - Debra Duncan
President Elect - [unfilled]
Vice President - Cille King
Treasurer - Marjorie Cole
Secretary - Jeanne Mann

Margaret Arnold
marci francisco
Janice Friedman
Midge Grinstead
Carol Klinknett
Marlene Merrill
Austin Turney
Melissa Wick

Nominating Committee
Mary Lou Wright, Chair
Sharon Brown
James Dunn
[two members to be appointed from the LWV L-DC Board]

LWV Positions

League of Women Voters Positions

LWV Lawrence-Douglas County Positions

LWV-Kansas Positions

LWV-National Positions

Bylaws and Policies of the LWV L-DC